Class Agenda #7 – Close Reading -Identifying + Interpreting

Opener- “Shake It Off” Taylor Swift  2014 (4:01)

  • Sit in the circle
  • Have out your notebook and pen
  • Write down the date

  • What are some things that other people do that might bother you? And what do you do to shake them off?

  • Share-

 

Opening Reading-

 

Whip around 1- What’s one word or phrase that really stands out to you?

Whip 2- Let’s work together to interpret the quote in our own words.

Mini-Lesson -Close Reading Strategies #2

Student Learning Targets:

  • I can identify key words and phrases in a text.
  • I can work to interpret the meaning of these words and phrases in a text.
  • I can work to find and understand the hidden meanings of these words and phrases in a text.

What are the verbs and nouns in these student learning targets?

  • Yesterday I made a mistake, I asked you to interpret lines and we’re not really there yet. The Key verb was interpret (put into your own words, find meaning).
  • Thinking about last week, we don’t really have to know why a word or phrase is important for this step.
  • We DO need to recognize that some words or phrases matter. AND WE TRY TO POINT TO THEM.
  • This week, We are starting to think about WHY the word or phrase that you are identifying IS important.

  • SLT/Grade 55 70 85 100
    I can work to interpret the meaning of these words and phrases in a text. I made no attempt I am putting important words and phrases of a text into my own words, but my meanings might not be clear. I am putting important words and phrases of a text into my own words. My interpretations are basic and accurate. I am putting the words and phrases of a text into my own words. My interpretations add new meaning to the text.

 

  • Let’s Look At the Lyrics from the opening song- “Shake It Off” by Taylor Swift (we will start looking at more difficult texts soon enough)

Identify-Key Words and Phrases in the first stanza.

Read Aloud- “Shake It Off”

  • What are the key words?
  • What do they mean?

Class time (can be done with a partner)- 10 minutes

  • Finish Reading Shake It Off- Interpret into your own words.

Question- In Taylor Swift’s song “Shake It Off”, what are some criticisms that Taylor faces and how does she react to them? Use textual evidence to support your claim.

Share Out-

Closing Circle- How comfortable do we feel with this first step of close reading?

Leave a Reply

