Class Agenda #12 – Quiz Review and Revision

Circle Around The Room-

  1. I Believe in…

Announcement- The Red Norm!!!!

Big Announcement- On Mondays we Rotate Seats. Same Groups, just moving once counter clockwise.

 

Same Groups – Ace, King, Queen, Jack, 10, 9, TAKE OUT ELA HW

Timer- “Gwan” –  The Suffers (2016, 3:52)

9/26/16

(COPY)-And DO THIS-  Prompt– Create a list of I Believe statements that you believe. 

Reminder- Aim for 47 entries on your list.

example- 

  • I Believe in Waking Up Early
  • I Believe in casually trying to win at everything, and fanatically trying to win at some things.
  • I Believe in Walking as much as possible
  • I Believe in staying cool and calm in most situations
  • I Believe in being honest with myself.

Bonus- Start to think of Anecdotes that Support your I Believe Statements.

Table share-

Share your partners

SLT- I can revise my Quiz to show understanding of context and interpretation in a This I Believe Essay.

Circle the Verbs. Underline the Nouns

ML-

  • 88% of students were able to identify anecdotes in a This I Believe Essay.
  • 96% of students were able to identify the Main Idea in a This I Believe Essay
  • 63% of students were able to interpret the meaning of a This I Believe Essay.
  • 50% of students were able to write 3-5 sentences in their interpretation.
  • 25% of students were able to accurately identify the context in a This I Believe Essay.

Focusing On Context- Simplified definition- 

Context- Anything in a This I Believe Essay that IS NOT the main idea, an anecdote, or a conclusion.

  • So this means if you are underlining the Context in a This I Believe Essay, there should be A LOT of underlining. 

Model-

  • Let’s read the Middle Anecdote Together.
  • Where is the context?

Homework Check In- Keep out your HW Notebook-

I can keep an organized Homework Notebook

Individual Work Options-

  • Revise Your Quiz to improve your grade.
  • Continue your List of I Believe Statements from your Do Now.
  • Start drafting your own This I Believe Essay (we’ll formally start this process tomorrow)

 

 

  • HW Reminder– 
  • Homework starts tonight. 30 Minutes of Reading, 2-3 Sentence Reaction/Summary, 1 Page of Independent Writing 
Leave a Reply

