Class Agenda #13 – So… What’s a This I Believe Essay

Circle Around The Room-

Reminder- The Red Norm!!!!

Reminder- On Mondays we Rotate Seats. Same Groups, just moving once counter clockwise.

Same Groups – Ace, King, Queen, Jack, 10, 9, TAKE OUT ELA HW

Timer- “Candy Rain” –  Soul For Real (1995, 4:31)

9/27/16

DO THIS-  Prompt– In your own words, what is a This I Believe Essay? 

Have out your Homework Notebook

Reminder- Aim for 5 sentences.

example- 

  • Basically, we’ve been studying these I Believe Essays for a week now. I think they are kind of like a personal essay like we learned in school already, but they’re a little different. You need a mix of the anecdote thingies and then context. I’m not totally sure what context is, but you need a lot of it in the essay because when we read them, basically we had to underline a bunch of context.

Bonus- Start to think of Anecdotes that Support your I Believe Statements.

Table share-

Share your partners

SLT- I can interpret what a This I Believe Essay is and what is expected of me when I write one.

Circle the Verbs. Underline the Nouns

Grapple Text- This I Believe (front and back)

  • Ether- Noun- The clouds, your imagination, your head, from the universe. 
  • Read both sides of the This I Believe Introduction.
  • Put this text into your own words. (Write on the page.)

Mini-Lesson

Read Aloud- This I Believe Invitation and Guidelines.

So what is expected of us?

Individual Work-

1) Summarize the This I Believe Assignment in your own words (interpretation).

  • What is a This I Believe Essay?
  • What is expected of me when I write one?

2) Go Back through past “I Believe Statements” and “I am” Statements  from Do Nows.

  • Read through them and think about what you believe.
  • Choose the 3 you’re most passionate about. Re-list with context about the belief. 

3) Try drafting your own This I Believe Essay.

 

 

  • HW Reminder– 
  • Homework starts tonight. 30 Minutes of Reading, 2-3 Sentence Reaction/Summary, 1 Page of Independent Writing 
Leave a Reply

