Class Agenda #18- Final Draft Day #2

“Ready or Not” – The Delfonics (1:58 – 1968) Seats- Notebooks

                      Front Door

screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-8-54-52-am

Front Door

screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-8-54-21-am

Timer- “Code Of The Streets” –  Gang Starr (1994, 3:29)

10/7/16

DO THIS-  Prompt– Read through your essay or anecdote drafts. Put Check Marks √ next to any dialogue. 

Have out your Homework Notebook

Announcement-

Laptop Norms:

  • If a there’s a whole class speaker, make your screen into a clamshell
  • Go To:  www.lyonsela.wordpress.com
  • Go To Google Drive
    • Open a new Google Doc
    • Share This doc with Boccheciamp and Erica Hansen
  • Heading- Name, ELA 8, Boccheciamp in the top left corner
  • Double Spaced
  • 12 Point Font, New Times, Cambria or Georgia Fonts

 

SLT-

  • I can revise my anecdotes to include setting, conflict and dialogue. 

Break Circle Verbs, Underline Nouns

Mini-Lesson

 

Revising for setting for setting, conflict and dialogue. Let’s look at some examples:

Scar – Does this have setting? Conflict? Dialogue? 

I didn’t hear anything. Didn’t really feel pain. It was more of a weightlessness. Suddenly I wasn’t peddling anymore, and I was slightly up in the air and moving really fast. And then I did hear something, the screech of slamming on the breaks and then I was no longer on my bike, but I was flying through the air. I hit the ground and I rolled and rolled and rolled, and I didn’t really feel anything but I was sitting on my butt on the side of the road. I noticed a chuck of missing from my knee.

Scar- Does this have setting? Conflict? Dialogue?

I was riding my bike home from a friend’s house. I had done this probably a hundred time so I got a little casual going around a turn and I drifted the bike into the center of the road, without looking back. I didn’t hear anything. Didn’t really feel pain. It was more of a weightlessness. Suddenly I wasn’t peddling anymore, and I was slightly up in the air and moving really fast. And then I did hear something, the screech of slamming on the breaks and then I was no longer on my bike, but I was flying through the air.

I hit the ground and I rolled and rolled and rolled, and I didn’t really feel anything but I was sitting on my butt on the side of the road.Two kids who I recognized from the high school running at me, and they get to me and the taller one asks, “Are you dead?” I said I didn’t think so, and the other one says, “Cause we were going like 50!” I laughed a little, but then I noticed a chunk of flesh missing from my knee.

Individual Work: Final Draft is Due on Friday 10/7/16

1) Which option are you choosing? 1 or 2

2) In your notebook, draft either your This I Believe or you 5 Anecdotes

3) Read over your drafts, add setting, conflict and dialogue if you need.

4) Work on getting your draft onto a computer.

 

  • HW Reminder– 
  • Homework starts tonight. 30 Minutes of Reading, 2-3 Sentence Reaction/Summary, 1 Page of Independent Writing 
Leave a Reply

