Class Agenda #26- Identifying the parts of a story.

Timer- “Psycho” –  ASAP Ferg (2:59 – 2016)

10/20/16

DO THIS- 

Prompt- “I woke up to hear knocking on glass. At first, I thought it was the window until I heard it come from the mirror again.”  

 Write the story…

Example- I woke up to the ping of my phone. I had a new text message. I unlocked my phone and gasped with horror. There was a picture in my phone of me sleeping. I live alone. My heart started to raced and I scanned the room. All the windows and doors were shut.

Have out your Homework

  • Share out with your partner.

 

  • SLT- I can identify the parts of a story. 

    Breakdown: Circle Verbs, Underline Nouns

Grapple Text- Watch the following.

ALMA-

Read on your own for 3 minutes.

We’ll review pieces.

Mini-Lesson

Copy the parts of the story into your notebook

As a writer, the first part you have to decide is what’s the premise and what’s the climax.

Independent Work

Practice- Watch Alma Again. Identify the Parts of the Plot in your Notebook.

Review-

Scary Story Organizer

Focus on:

  • Question 1- the premise. 
  • Question 2- Climax

Once you have those two done, this should write itself.

Class Work-

  • Continue working on your short story organizer.
  • When this is complete- start working on your own scary story.

Things I’ll be looking at For Monday-

  • Monkey’s Paw Packet
  • Notebook
  • Scary Handouts
  • Scary Story Draft

HW Reminder– 

  • Homework starts tonight. 30 Minutes of Reading, 2-3 Sentence Reaction/Summary, 1 Page of Independent Writing. 
Leave a Reply

