Class Agenda #28A- Word Choice in a Scary Story.

Timer- “Boogie Monster” –  Gnarls Barkley (3:58 – 2006)

10/25/16

DO THIS- 

Prompt- “There’s nothing like the laughter of a baby. Unless it’s 1AM and you’re home alone.”  

 Finish The Story…

Example- I woke up to the ping of my phone. I had a new text message. I unlocked my phone and gasped with horror. There was a picture in my phone of me sleeping. I live alone. My heart started to raced and I scanned the room. All the windows and doors were shut.

Have out your Homework

  • Share out with your partner.

  • SLT- I can analyze the author’s word choice in a Scary Story.

    Breakdown: Circle Verbs, Underline Nouns

  • Read Aloud!
  • “A Ghost Story” by Mark Twain – We’ll Read It Through Once.
  • As we read- Identify the Parts of the Story- Exposition, Rising, Climax, Falling, Resolution.
  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgB0Gvk1VDY
  • Finish From Page 9

Mini-Lesson 

I can analyze the author’s word choice in a scary story.

Share Out our Best Words-

Class Work-

  • Look at at your word choices in your scary story draft. Use 3 or more of the words from “A Ghost Story” in your Own Draft.
  • Continue working on your short story organizer.
  • When this is complete- start working on your own scary story.
  • When you have a draft in your notebook, grab a computer and get it into their.
  • Google Drive, New Google Doc,
  • Share the Doc with Boccheciamp and Erica Hansen

 

HW Reminder– 

  • Homework starts tonight. 30 Minutes of Reading, 2-3 Sentence Reaction/Summary, 1 Page of Independent Writing. 
Leave a Reply

